About Royal Arch Masonry



This is the official Website of the Fredericksburg Royal Arch Chapter No. 23 in the Commonwealth of Virginia.  The information on this website is provided as a public service only and should not be used for commercial purposes.  Unless otherwise explicitly stated, the material on the website is provided “as is” and without warranty of any kind.  All expressed or implied conditions, representations, and warranties, including any implied warranty of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, or non-infringement, are disclaimed.  While it is our goal to keep this website accurate and current, no representations, warranties, guarantees as to the quality, suitability, accuracy or completeness of any of the materials contained on this website are made.  If you have comments to help us improve this website, please contact our Webmaster at his email:  s.chandler@warbard.com


Thank you for your support and please enjoy your visit to our website. 

Fredericksburg Chapter No. 23

Royal Arch Degrees

Contact Secretary




Back: Jon Mayberry and Howard Coleman.


Center:  Fred Hinshaw, Sandy Mackey, Shelby Chandler, Carl Weeks, and Tom Lewis.


Front:  Dan Thompson, Frank Jones, Rudolph Griffith, Tony Rudder, and Leo Powell.

Chartered October 18, 1875

Virginia York Rite

Living Past High Priest


Name & Year

1991-92,1994-95 - Harold L. Thompson
1992-1993 - Carl S. Weeks **
1993-1994 - Michael R. Ferrell
1997-1998 - Robert W. Benish
1998-1999 - Rodney F. Ayers **
1999-2000 - Wayne Ayers*
2000-2001 - Rudy Griffith
2002-2003 - Frederick C. Hinshaw

2003-2004 - Wilfred George Volkstadt

2004-2005 - Harold “Leo” Powell

2005-2006 -

2006-2007 - Thomas Staples

2007-2008 - Anthony Rudder



* Demitted




1958-1959 - Carl R. Pepmeier **
1960-1962 - Harold J. Davis **
1962 1964 - Charles B. Albright
1969-1970 - Robert V. Crookshanks ***
1973-1975 - Hamilton E. Pape
1976-1978 - Charles W. Fisher
1978-1980 - Ernest C. Stone Jr.
1981-1982 - William E. Davis
1983-84,1996-97 - John R. Ritchey

1986-87,1995-96 - C. Jarrett Frame Jr. **
1987-1988 - Samuel G. Hughes **
1988-1989 - Edward W. Smith

1989-1990 - Alex Novitszki

1990-1991 - William J. White